Project Life + Gratitude in 2016

Discovering Project Life was one of the BIG highlights of my 2015. I love slipping my photos into the clear pockets and using Becky Higgins’ amazing line of insert cards to tell our story. It’s such a pleasure to work on my album and get inspiration from other Project Lifers for creative, contemporary ways to communicate my narrative.

new year spread

This year I used the 2015 Project 52 Core Kit (no longer available) as well as the Midnight Edition Core Kit. I also loved creating my own watercolor cards (like in my New Years layout, above) as well as original 3×4 quote cards. A few months ago I began incorporating embellishments, like gold die cut shapes, vellum overlays, and layered clusters. It was fun to experiment with fancy touches and new trends as I learned more about my scrapbooking style and what felt best for me to record. 

My plan for 2016 is to keep making at least one spread each month. I don’t put pressure on myself to record every week, rather I just focus on the stories I want to tell and the big events in our lives. I’m finding that two core kits are more than enough for me, and I’m looking forward to working through those and my current embellishment collection before buying anything new this year.

The thing that has surprised me the most about Project Life is how much it encourages gratitude. When I sit down and create a new spread, playing with color and pattern and balance, I experience what positive psychologists call “flow“.  Everything is working properly and in tandem, the world is right side up, and I have clear thoughts of gratitude and happiness that my life is so filled with such wonderful people and beautiful places.

And one does not have to be a great artist or a creative genius to experience this. Everyone has something to contribute, precious memories to record, thoughts to express. Your unique perspective matters and it must find its way out, even if you don’t ever share it with anyone else.

Even if you can’t sing well, sing. Sing to yourself.
Sing in the privacy of your home. But sing.
-Rebbe Nachman of Breslov

 

IMG_0522

Your story must be told. The world needs your memories, your dreams, and your convictions. Whether you record them in a scrapbook, poem, or song, or if you act on your experiences by helping those who stand where you once stood, all of those are vital. We need your voice, raised in protest or song or prayer. Express your gratitude, your pain,  your deepest wishes. Sing in the privacy of your home, if you must, but sing.

הֹדוּ לַה’ כִּי־טוֹב
כִּי לְעוֹלָם חַסְדּוֹ

 

2 thoughts on “Project Life + Gratitude in 2016

Leave a Reply

