Craft Desk DIY | Creating a Sacred Place

Our second bedroom has been calling to me. It’s been a workhorse of a guest room since we moved in, but in between weekends hosting family and friends, it sits empty. Finally, after my post about making room for the things you love this winter, I decided to claim a corner of that room for my own. A place to craft, to put the things that make me happiest, to experiment and make a mess.

painting.jpg

To have a sacred place is an absolute necessity for anybody today. You must have a room or a certain hour of the day or so, where you do not know who your friends are, you don’t know what you owe anybody or what they owe you. This is a place where you can simply experience and bring forth what you are and what you might be… At first, you may find nothing happens there. But, if you have a sacred place and use it, take advantage of it, something will happen.

Joseph Campbell

Without fail, January and February bring on that feeling of “what’s next?” It can be a full time job, waiting for the next thing, and I have a personal theory that Valentine’s Day was dropped into February just to break up the monotony. But for those of us for whom Purim is the next bright spot on the calendar, or for whom Valentine’s Day feels like a cheap distraction tactic, it is good to always have a hobby or two to fall back on.

So as this past long weekend approached, I did my Pinterest research for a DIY craft/writing desk that would help me organize my supplies and give me a place to nest until Spring. Here’s what I came up with.

desk diy1

I used two 6-Cube storage units that I picked up on Amazon and a melamine desktop that  is currently on sale at the Container Store. I paid $69.76 for the two storage shelves (on sale on Amazon) and $36.44 for the table top, for a total of $106.20. While there are ready-made desks out there for around that price point, none of them had the storage capacity I was looking for. It is such a pleasure to have all of my craft supplies in one streamlined place!

The next step is to style my new craft nook. I opted to use what I already have for now, though I hope to invest in some chic bins soon to keep all the bits and pieces categorized and out of sight. I’m also looking forward to getting the art up on the wall and off the work surface!

Interested in making something similar? Here are all my resources and recommendations, below. You can get so carried away with delightful containers, pin boards, trays, and labels. If you have the budget for it, have fun! Otherwise, take a few baskets and bins from around the house, hijack a fancy mug for pens, and don’t wait another minute to break in your new sacred space.

 

 

Product Sources:

 

Leave a Reply

