Shaking Up Beauty

My makeup routine is consistent and presentable, but beauty is usually on the bottom of my list when it comes to trying new things and investing in new products. I usually rely instead on everyday fallbacks like crisp black eyeliner, creamy brown shadows, and a little bronzer to warm everything up.

Once in a while, though, I’ll get a free sample of Bobbi Brown face cream (it’s just heaven) and realize that there is so much more out there that I would love to try, and what a difference it can make in how I feel. Recently I had the urge to shake up my winter beauty routine with soft shimmers and a bit of rosy color, and I’d love to show you what I found!

makeup inspiration.jpg

Here’s Kate Winslet wowing us with her light shimmery eyes, smooth skin, and berry lips. Products below!

Let’s start with the eyes. Heavily inspired by the cult favorite Naked 3 Palette , the Iconic 3 Redemption Palette is the best $7 I’ve spent on makeup in a long, long time. The shades range from pinky rose gold to soft shimmery grays and browns, with great pigmentation. They blend beautifully, letting you add just a touch of warmth in your crease, or a glamorous dark or light smoky eye, like Kate is wearing. The shimmer adds a subtle dose of sparkle, but never glitter. Truly lovely.

img_5048

Lancome’s Color Design lipsticks have a creamy consistency that is perfect for colder months. I layer these gorgeous shades over lip balm for extra protection from freezing winds. The soft berry pink of All Done Up is the perfect foil for cool, shimmery eyes.  And for $23, it’s easy to try something new.

lipstick

Lancome’s All Done Up

The Clarisonic Mia is one of the best things I’ve added to my routine lately. It gently soughs off dead skin cells and impurities, getting a much deeper clean than cleanser alone. When I use the Mia before bed, my face is softer, seems to absorb moisturizer better, and feels cleaner even when I wake up the next morning. I haven’t been using it long enough to give a definitive review, but so far I’m happy with it.

clarisonic-mia-2-sea-breeze_1

And I can’t talk about beauty without sharing this old favorite. I’ve been using my L’Occitane shea butter hand cream devotedly. Having soft hands and elbows makes me feel pretty and feminine under layers of scarves and sweaters and is the best complement to the new rosy makeup and glowing skin that is perking up my February.

cream.jpg

Have you tried any new beauty products lately? I’d love any recommendations!

 

 

Leave a Reply

