10 Creative Project Life Ideas

I love love love my Project Life practice, but there are definitely days when I can’t seem to think of any creative ideas to introduce into my spreads. I want my album to draw the viewer in, with little surprises and details, and I also want this practice to stretch me creatively. More than anything else, I want my work to be meaningful to me as I create it, and when I look back on these beautiful memories.

project life.jpg

At times when I have hit a creative block, Pinterest just doesn’t help me. I can’t seem to gather any solid tips. Instead I can only look at whole layouts and get discouraged about the work in front of me. So I thought that today I would share ten down-and-dirty specific things to try when you find yourself in a scrapbooking rut.

1

1. Make a floating cluster in a pocket. Here I layered kraft cardboard, cardstock, a black and white photo, vellum, and a sparkly leaf embellishment. I like how it’s something a little different and adds breathing space and interactivity to the page.

2. Hide some secret journaling behind another card. I added a pull tab with washi tape. This was a great way for me to talk about something personal that readers would have to look closer to find.2

1. On this layout, I showcased photos of other crafts I was exploring at that time, like the silk painting in the top right 3×4 pocket. I didn’t take this page too seriously, adding a cupcake buttercream menu just because I loved the colors. What other creative things are you up to that you can document?

2. In November, I dedicated an 8×10 insert to my favorite Instagram photos from that month. It was such a great way to share the vibe of November, and I think I’m going to enjoy looking back at who I was following and what trends I was liking in November 2015.3

1. Around the holidays, it’s fun to incorporate some favorite family recipes into your album. I created a 4×6 recipe template in PicMonkey, a free image editing website, and plugged in a photo. It’s such a great way to preserve these family legacies and was perfect for the holiday setting.

2. For my birthday week, I penned a short prayer on cardstock and slipped it into a small envelope. I paperclipped it closed and glued on a label. It felt so right to include my deepest wishes in this spread, and I know that in years to come I’ll find it meaningful and poignant to look back on where I was at that moment.

4

1. It’s always fun to include an unexpected item in your spread, like this galvanized metal tag I picked up in the Target dollar spot. Look around your house and see what fun items can be incorporated for texture and the element of surprise.

2. I love writing a manifesto for every season just as the weather starts to change. Above is my fall manifesto, which included things like drinking cider, going on more walks, and planning for my husband’s birthday. What are your can’t-miss seasonal activities?

5

1. At the end of the year, make an infographic that reflects all the great times you had! I added mine as an 8×10 insert on a spread showcasing the highlights of the year, at right. I talked about our travels, our new apartment, the meals we hosted, and our accomplishments at work.

I hope you enjoyed these tips for breathing some life back into your scrapbook layouts when your creativity is running low. Do you have any advice to add? I’d love to hear from you in the comments!

 

5 thoughts on “10 Creative Project Life Ideas

  1. Becky- Project Life says:

    I haven’t seen the pull tab idea before… I reckon I could use it for a what happened next with two photos! 😃 omg love this idea
    Thanks,
    Rebecca x

Leave a Reply

