The 20 Minutes a Day Project

This month, my husband and I are overhauling our apartment so we can kick off September in a more streamlined, clutter-free space. Between recent work trips and other distractions, our place is showing some definite signs of neglect. It happens before you know it; piles of papers start to form, closets take on a life of their own, and no matter how much you clean, the place never feels sparkling and fresh. It’s time to create some space to breathe and bring some serenity back to this little apartment of ours.

tree photo

This can be an overwhelming undertaking, whether you dedicate whole Sundays to the project or try to tackle it in evenings after work. I knew we weren’t going to get anywhere if we got burnt out after day one, so I came up with a plan to spend just twenty minutes each day addressing a specific category of clutter.

20 minutes a day project.jpg

Of course, feel free to customize this list so that it suits your home and your clutter zones. I tried to address all the areas in our apartment where stuff tends to pile up, as well as categories of items that need occasional attention- like expiring medications and books that we are ready to pass along to friends. My main goal is to get rid of things that we haven’t touched in months, or the items we’re constantly moving out of the way to get to our go-to things. It’s frustrating to sort through three stained table cloths before you find the one you’re looking for. I’d rather use that time doing things that make me happy.

Here are a few of my personal goals for this project. Finding your motivation to declutter will make all the difference. I hope you’ll join me!

Personal Goals.jpg

Can’t wait to update you on our progress at the end of the month!

Leave a comment