What Fall is For

Hi, friends. It’s Fall here in Boston, which always sharpens my senses and changes the way I see myself and my world. Last year I wrote a post that so perfectly captures how I feel every year, that today as I sit at my keyboard I can’t find a thing to add.

This Fall is also a little different, as I am already turned inward, my focus sharp on what is growing and changing inside me day by day. I am expecting a baby in February, God willing, and each morning brings a new sense of wonder, of time passing, of abundance. Change is my bread and butter as this baby reshapes my body, my center of gravity, and my sense of what must be done immediately and what can wait for another day. I nest with fierce attention and everyday interactions pack a more powerful emotional punch, while larger battles can wait in the wings for a slimmer, less preoccupied future version of me. And if she never gets to them, they couldn’t have been that important in the first place.

quilt

A baby quilt, ready and waiting

As we move towards the shorter days and colder months, this body is not made for wrestling with demons or accommodating negativity. It’s made for warm, soft light, for quilts in the making, for loving connection and deep conversations. It’s made for love made visible, for kind words and abundant good deeds. This body is nurturing and my hands can’t move fast enough to keep up.

In a few months, the calendar will tip again, and the days will begin to lengthen. We will start to feel the early rustlings of Spring. When the crocuses start taking notice in their comfortable beds beneath the soil, my baby will be born and the earth will begin to wake up again. Every day we’ll move closer to warmth and sunlight, our energy outward now, instead of inward. And what a celebration it will be!

Until then, I’m excited to share my great news with you. Have a wonderful Shabbat and weekend, full of what you love!

Bonus links from this week:

 

Save

Leave a Reply

